Hi Everyone!

28 Sep

My name is Kate Mossman, and I’d like to introduce myself as the newest addition of the MIA team! I’ll be working at the museum as a Development Officer, helping to implement some of our long-standing and more recent initiatives. This includes visitor outreach and developing our online presence such as with the new “Playing Favorites” blog feature, and assisting with programs like the upcoming Culture Days on September 30th, October  1st and 2nd.  I’ll also be involved with coordinating volunteers and helping to manage the museum gallery. I am really thrilled to be working in such a beautiful environment, as well as collaborating with such a knowledgeable and engaging group of staff and volunteers. As a volunteer with the museum over the last nine months, I have developed a great appreciation for all of the hard work, as well as creativity and vision that goes into making this the dynamic museum that it is today. I look forward to contributing to this vision, and also the opportunity to meet many of you, our visitors!

Fun Facts about Kate:

Background:  Just completed a PhD in Cultural Anthropology at McMaster University.

Interests:  Inuit art (!), travel, reading, exploring Toronto

Favorite Piece in the Museum:  There are too many to choose from, but I particularly like the pink alabaster sculpture, “Mask” by Dolfus Cadieux, as well as the tiny dancing bears by Mosesie Pootoogook.

