Greetings from MIA’s Development Officer!!!

28 Sep

Karolina Tomaszewska, Development Officer, with some fabulous prints! (Annie Pootoogook's "Interior/Exterior" and Elisapee Ishulataq's "Bridge in Pangnirtung")

Hi there! My name is Karolina Tomaszewska and I am thrilled to have taken on the role of Development Officer at the Museum of Inuit Art.  As MIA’s newest staff member I’d like to take this opportunity to properly introduce myself.

 I earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Art History and Law from Carleton University in Ottawa. That is where I was first introduced to Inuit art. Many faculty members were well versed about the field and the Carleton University Art Gallery was home to a fairly extensive collection of Inuit art in all its forms — prints, drawings, sculptures, and textiles. I fell in love with prints and drawings instantly and pursued my interest with post-graduate studies at Concordia University in Montreal. Currently, I’m on the final lap of my Master’s degree which focuses on the drawings of Annie and Napachie Pootoogook from the community of Kinngait. With such directed interests, it was only natural for me to find myself volunteering at MIA. Now as a staff member, I’m excited to develop and implement new strategies to enhance visitor experience and be part of a dynamic team of professionals.

When I’m not at MIA, I can be found reading too many books at once, making pierogies into the wee hours of the night and strolling around my neighborhood with my little Italian greyhound, Buckminster.

One Response to “Greetings from MIA’s Development Officer!!!”

  1. Regina Gil September 28, 2011 at 10:50 PM #

    Hey Karolina,

    Great Job! Congratulations on your new assignment with MIA and for providing your very interesting bio!! The picture is pretty cool as well. We are confident that this is the first step toward a long, interesting and very rewarding career in your chosen field.

    Bonne chance…..Regina & Tom

Comments are closed.

