Introducing Our MIA Kids Correspondent

17 Sep

As MIA’s Educational Coordinator, I am fortunate enough to meet a wide variety of people who come to the museum and want to discuss the art with me. I learned very quickly that everyone has a unique perspective on the museum and the art we display (as well as everything else). Part of our goal at MIA is to be as inclusive as possible, and we realize that the views and perspective of our staff are not the only ones that exist. In that spirit, we’ve appointed an Official MIA Kids Correspondent to give their own unique take on the museum, Inuit art, events, and other aspects of the museum’s activities.

Our MIA Kids Correspondent’s first assignment? To help us better document and describe our trip to Rankin Inlet. So without further ado, meet Lauren Harris:

MIA Kids Correspondent Lauren Harris

How old are you?

I’m nine.

How long have you been interested in the museum and Inuit art, or just art?

I’ve always liked art. For Inuit art, I would say since I was five I really started to like it.

What is it that you like the most?

I’ve always liked how it was kind of magical, how it wasn’t really realistic. I would say sculptures are my favourite because I can appreciate it more.

Were you excited to be chosen our official MIA Kids corrspondent?

Yeah, ever since I heard.

How have you liked the trip so far?

So far? Well, I really like it. Mostly because I got to see how Inuit live and I really like their community. It’s good to get away from the madness in the city.

Have you learned anything new since you’ve been on this trip?

Yeah, that they don’t have all paved roads, which I thought was cool and maybe dangerous.

What’s made the biggest impression on you so far?

I would say when we were landing. It was so amazing seeing the land and taking it all in.

What do you hope to do while you’re here?

I hope to ride one of those four wheelers [ATVs] – I’ve always wanted to do that.

Lauren will be commenting on our journey periodically, so keep your eyes on the blog to hear more of her impressions of the Arctic.

Posted by: Alysa Procida, MIA’s Educational Coordinator

