Playing Favourites: Samantha C., June 5, 2011

11 Jun

Playing Favourites is a running series featuring MIA visitors, staff and volunteers with their favorite objects in our collection.  Playing Favourites is open to every person at MIA, so please let us know if you’d like to participate the next time you visit.

MIA visitor Samantha C next to "Mother and Child" (c. 1985) by an unidentified artist from Inukjuak, Stone, MIA Collection

Where are you from?

Brampton, Ontario.

What brings you to MIA? Is this your first visit?

This is my first visit, I was draw into the museum by the art in the window.

Why is this your favourite piece in the collection?

The mother in the art is a representation to me of my grandma who with 6 other children had to raise me and work at the same time. The baby is placed on the mother’s back, the same way my grandma placed me on hers.

Posted by: Alysa Procida, MIA’s Educational Coordinator

