Welcome Our New Volunteer Coordinator!

6 May

Recently, MIA said goodbye to our longtime Operations Manager . Today, we officially welcome our new Volunteer Coordinator to the blog! If you are interested in volunteering, please click here!

I would like to formally introduce myself as MIA’s new Volunteer Coordinator.  My name is Jessica Cappuccitti and I began volunteering at MIA in February 2010.   As a recent Art History graduate from the University of Western Ontario, and an Inuit Art enthusiast, I was excited to become a volunteer!  I took part in as many events at the Museum as I could.  The most memorable was the opening for the Kananginak Pootoogook exhibition, Celebrating Five Decades of Artistic Achievement, where I met many interesting people including the artist himself.  I always enjoyed volunteering at such events because it afforded me the opportunity to work with many of the other MIA volunteers. 

With Annika’s departure to Ottawa, this past month saw my promotion to Volunteer Coordinator.  The news was bitter sweet as I was very sad to see Annika go yet excited to start my new position at MIA.

My first day in my new position was made especially exciting by the arrival from CAP (Canadian Arctic Producers) of a number of prints and a stone block for our new exhibition that will officially open May 8: Bold Images In Stone: Stone Cut Printmaking in Ulukhaktok.  It was thrilling to see these works that would soon become part of the exhibition.  Little more than a week later we had a visit from artist Noah Maniapik in anticipation of his printmaking workshop at MIA on May 14thIt was such a pleasure to have the opportunity to meet with him and learn about his printmaking process.

My first weeks as Volunteer Coordinator at MIA are proving to be very exciting.  I would like to thank everyone for making me feel so welcome and I look forward to the exciting months ahead!   

– Posted by Jessica Cappuccitti, MIA’s Volunteer Coordinator

